The Nancy F. Walker Scholarships for

Classical Vocal and

Instrumental Students

Nancy F. Walker Scholarship


Matinée Musicale Cincinnati Awards $63,000 in Scholarships

Matinée Musicale Cincinnati is pleased to announce the results of its Fourth Annual Nancy F. Walker Memorial Scholarship Competition for classical instrumental and vocal students living or studying in the Greater Cincinnati area*. Due to continued pandemic restrictions, this is its second year as a virtual event. Building upon its success from last year, the 2021 competition awarded $63,000 in scholarships.

The competition was open to high school and college juniors and seniors. In a great response, students from five colleges and public, private, and home schools representing eight area counties applied. Students submitted YouTube video auditions which were adjudicated by highly qualified, distinguished judges, who assigned scores and provided comments.

High School Scholarship Winners 2021

High School Instrumental

1st Place:  Kasey Shao, piano; Ran Dank, teacher

2nd Place Tie: Loxea Hipsky, viola; Marion Peraza de Webb, teacher

Andrew Yang, violin; Won-Bin Yim, teacher

3rd Place 3-Way Tie: Daniel Dorsey, cello; Sarah Kim & Alan Rafferty, teachers

Arun Kamath, piano; Richard Van Dyke, teacher

Kate McGrath, harp; Gillian Sella, teacher

High School Vocal

1st Place Tie:  Claire Hardek, soprano; Kimberly Buczek, teacher

Maria Zierolf, soprano; Lincoln Chapman, teacher

2nd Place:  Luke Randazzo, baritone; Kathy Cammett, teacher

3rd Place:  Mary Wilkens, soprano; Melody Wallace, teacher

Encouragement Award:  Anna Berringer, soprano; Talia Zoll, teacher

College Winners of Scholarships 2021

College Instrumental

1st Place:  KayCee Galano, violin; Kurt Sassmannshaus, teacher

2nd Place:  Yang Gao, piano; Awadagin Pratt, teacher

3rd Place:  Emily Foster, piano; Dror Biran, teacher

Encouragement Awards:  Kasey Stokes, piano; Dror Biran, teacher

Gene Waldron, double bass; Robert Rohwer, teacher

College Vocal

1st Place:  Matthew Goodheart, tenor; Thomas Baresel, teacher

2nd Place:  Clara Reeves, soprano; Thomas Baresel, teacher

3rd Place Tie:  Sara Storm Hargrave, soprano; Amy Johnson, teacher

Nathaniel Wilkens, baritone; Alison Acord, teacher

Encouragement Award:  Anna Greco, soprano; Alison Acord, teacher

Instrumental Judges

J.R. Cassidy - Conductor, Music Director of the Kentucky Symphony Orchestra, which he envisioned and founded in 1992

Elisabeth Pridonoff - internationally known pianist and teacher; Professor Emerita of piano at CCM; still performing, adjudicating and offering master classes

Marie Speziale – first female trumpeter in a major symphony (CSO); remains active as a performer, teacher, clinician and adjudicator nationally and internationally

Vocal Judges

Everett McCorvey - tenor, Professor of voice, director and executive producer of the University of Kentucky Opera Theatre; has performed internationally with major opera companies

Cynthia Lawrence - soprano, Professor of voice, Endowed Chair of voice/opera at the University of Kentucky; has sung on five continents and is hailed as one of America’s most exciting singing actresses

Linda Snyder - Professor Emerita of voice and opera at the University of Dayton; has performed throughout the USA and Western Europe in recital, oratorio and opera/musical theater

Nancy Walker

Nancy Fuldner Walker, memorialized by these scholarships, was a musician, music teacher and strong advocate for all music and arts organizations. She provided able leadership to Matinée Musicale for more than four decades before her death in October 2017. Matinée Musicale Cincinnati honors her legacy of support and encouragement of young musicians through these scholarships.


Students who reside or attend school in Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren counties in Ohio; Boone, Campbell, and Kenton counties in Kentucky; and Dearborn County in Indiana are eligible to receive scholarships.


Please contact Nancy Bailey at or by phone at 859-781-0801.

Scroll to Top
Verified by MonsterInsights