Nancy F. Walker Scholarship


Front row, left to right: Claudia Neff, Mackenzie Jacquemin, Shannon Keegan, Dahkari Eubanks, Gabby Sewell, Mia Smith, Mary Kate Dearie, Sadie Koopman.

Back row, left to right: Liam Hedrick, Noah Girdler, Eric Riedel, Lauren Maynus, Reed Gnepper, Meagan Hipsky, Chandler Dorjahn, Charlie Gately.Not pictured: Greg Miller and Elena Villalon.

Young musicians from across the Tristate* competed in the 2019 Nancy F. Walker Memorial Scholarships Competition offered by Matinée Musicale Cincinnati. $50,000 in scholarships have been made possible by generous donations in memory of Nancy Fuldner Walker and a bequest from the estate of Louise Dieterle Nippert.

As an extension of its longtime mission to advance the careers of young instrumentalists and singers, awards were given to both instrumentalists and singers. Auditions were held on Saturday, April 6, 2019, at St. Paul United Methodist Church. Applicants were asked to perform 8-10 minutes of memorized music in at least two contrasting classical styles.

These are the winning musicians in 2019:

High School Instrumental

1st Place – Gabby Sewell, violin

2nd Place – Megan Hipsky, cello

3rd Place – Liam Hedrick, guitar

Honorable Mention – Noah Girdler, percussion

Honorable Mention – Mia Smith, violin

High School Vocal

1st Place – Reed Gnepper, baritone

2nd Place – Sarah “Sadie” Koopman, soprano

3rd Place – Lauren Maynus, soprano

Honorable Mention – Eric Riedel, tenor

College Instrumental

1st Place – Chandler Dorjahn, oboe

2nd Place – Charlie Gately, trumpet

3rd Place – Dahkari Eubanks, percussion

College Vocal

1st Place – Elena Villalon, soprano

2nd Place – Shannon Keegan, mezzo-soprano

3rd Place – Mackenzie Jacquemin, soprano

Honorable Mention – Mary Kate Dearie, soprano

Honorable Mention – Greg Miller, tenor

Honorable Mention – Claudia Neff, soprano


Students who reside or attend school in Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren counties in Ohio; Boone, Campbell, and Kenton counties in Kentucky; and Dearborn County in Indiana are eligible to receive scholarships.

Scroll to Top
Verified by MonsterInsights