Matinee Musicale Cincinnati 2020 High School Scholarship Winners


1st Place -  Kasey Shao, piano; Ran Dank, teacher

2nd Place -  Simon Bakos, bass clarinet; Diana Gipson, teacher

3rd Place (tied) -  Daniel Dorsey, cello; Sarah Kim, teacher; Meagan Hipsky, cello; Sarah Kim, teacher

Honorable Mention - Jennifer Armor, violin; Kurt Sassmannshaus, teacher

Honorable Mention -  Nolan Meister, piano; Jackson Leung, teacher

Honorable Mention - Arun Kamath, piano; Richard Van Dyke, teacher

Honorable Mention -  Andrew Lu, piano; Nozomi Yamaguchi, teacher


1st Place -  Jadyn Riggs, mezzo-soprano; Karl Resnik, teacher

2nd Place -  Mary Wilkens, soprano; Melody Wallace, teacher

3rd Place -  Eric Riedel, tenor; Alison Acord, teacher

Honorable Mention - Claire Northcut, soprano; Bill Seale, teacher

Matinee Musicale Cincinnati 2020 College Scholarship Winners


1st Place -   Yang Gao, piano; Awadagin Pratt, teacher

2nd Place -  Janna Young, harp; Gillian Sella, teacher

3rd Place -   Phillip Palmore, French horn; Denise Tryon, teacher

Honorable Mention - Kasey Stokes, piano; Dror Biran, teacher

Honorable Mention -  Charlie Gately, trumpet; Steven Pride, teacher

Honorable Mention - Natalie Orth, violin; Timothy Lees, teacher

Honorable Mention -  Stephan Freeman, piano; Sonya Szabo-Reynolds, teacher


1st Place -  Sara “Storm” Hargrave, soprano; Amy Johnson, teacher

2nd Place -  Nathanial Wilkens, baritone; Alison Acord, teacher

3rd Place -  Kayla Kramer, soprano; Alison Acord, teacher

Honorable Mention - Logan Wagner, tenor; Quinn Patrick Ankrum, teacher

Honorable Mention - Hayden Smith, baritone; Kenneth Shaw, teacher


Following the competition, students were pleased to receive written comments from the very distinguished panels of judges.


Dan Culnan – Associate Principal Cello, Cincinnati Symphony; piano

Karen Schneider – well known for her teaching and embouchure problem solving skills; has been on the faculty of the Kendall Betts Horn Camp and the Barry Tuckwell Institute

Manami White – Concertmaster, Kentucky Symphony Orchestra, Concertmaster and Associate Director, Collegium Cincinnati; Principal Second Violin and Personnel Manager, Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra; Concertmaster, South Florida Symphony Orchestra; Concertmaster, Ohio Valley Symphony


Mark Calkins – Associate Professor of Music and Voice, Berea College; past President of the Kentucky Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing; teacher of master classes in classical operatic and musical theater performance internationally

Evans Mirageas – Artistic Director of Cincinnati Opera

Morgan Smith – Baritone, one of the most prolific performers of modern operatic repertoire in the world


Students who reside or attend school in Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren counties in Ohio; Boone, Campbell, and Kenton counties in Kentucky; and Dearborn County in Indiana are eligible to receive scholarships.


Please contact Nancy Bailey at or by phone at 859-781-0801.

Scroll to Top
Verified by MonsterInsights