Julian Bliss, Clarinet
Bradley Moore, Piano

Sunday, February 18, 2018
3 p.m.
Memorial Hall
1225 Elm Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

Julian Bliss is one of the world’s finest clarinettists excelling as a concerto soloist, chamber musician, jazz artist, masterclass leader and tireless musical explorer. He has inspired a generation of young players as guest lecturer and creator of his Conn-Selmer range of affordable clarinets, and introduced a substantial new audience to his instrument. Born in the UK, Julian started playing the clarinet age 4, going on to study in the U.S. at the University of Indiana and in Germany under Sabine Meyer. The breadth and depth of his artistry are reflected in the diversity and distinction of his work.

The subject of a documentary entitled Gifted, Julian Bliss was honored in 2002 to perform by royal invitation at Queen Elizabeth II’s Golden Jubilee and subsequently at her 80th birthday celebration. He excels as concerto soloist, chamber musician, and jazz artist at the world’s leading festivals and venues. Click here to read more about him.

Bradley Moore has performed as piano soloist with orchestras including the National Symphony Orchestra and the Buffalo Philharmonic. He recently performed the Martinů Harpsichord Concerto with the San Francisco Ballet for the world premiere of Mark Morris’ Beaux, and has been heard as a recitative accompanist and continuo player with the Metropolitan Orchestra, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Mozarteum Orchester and the Metropolitan Chamber Ensemble.

Mr. Moore was recently appointed Head of Music Staff at the Houston Grand Opera and Music Director of the HGO Studio. He is also Music Director of the Fire Island Opera Festival, where he recently conducted Gluck’s L’arbre enchanté. Mr Moore was assistant conductor at the Metropolitan Opera for fifteen seasons, and has also worked as assistant conductor, backstage conductor and coach at the Salzburg Festival, Opéra National de Paris, the Canadian Opera Company, and the Los Angeles Opera. Click here to read more about him.


Fantasiestücke, Op. 73………………….Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856)

Sonate pour Clarinette Seule……………Tiberiu Olah (1928 – 2002)

Grand Duo Concertant.………………Carl Maria von Weber (1786 – 1826)


Première Rhapsodie.…………………….Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)

Sonata No.1 in F minor, Op.120………Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)


Someone to Watch Over Me………….George Gershwin (1898 – 1937)

Photography by Gayna Bassin